# **TRAIN TIMES**

|          | DUBLIN - SLIGO |          |
|----------|----------------|----------|
|          | Depart         | Arrive   |
| FRIDAY   | 8.00 am        | 11.09 am |
| &        | 11.05 am       | 2.10 pm  |
| SATURDAY | 13.05 am       | 4.10 pm  |
|          | 3.05 pm        | 6.06 pm  |
|          | 4.00 pm        | 7.09 pm  |

### SLIGO - DUBLIN

|        | Depart   | Arrive   |
|--------|----------|----------|
| SUNDAY | 9.00 am  | 12.03 pm |
|        | 11.00 am | 1.55 pm  |
|        | 1.00 pm  | 4.06 pm  |
|        | 3.00 pm  | 6.00 pm  |
|        | 4.30 pm  | 7.32 pm  |
|        | 6.00 pm  | 9.09 pm  |

There is a regular Bus Service from the Train Station to the Radisson Blu Hotel

## **PRIZES**

### **GALA OPEN PAIRS PERPETUAL SALVER**

(Presented by the late Nan Hender)
Prizes for the top 10 pairs plus Best Inter 'B' Pair.

### MIXED PAIRS CHAMPIONSHIP

(Dr. Michael Martin Cup) 1st (€100 each), 2nd, 3rd, Best Intermediate, Best Regional Pair, Best Sligo Pair.

### CONGRESS PAIRS CHAMPIONSHIP

(Summerville Cup)
1st (€250 each), 2nd, 3rd plus
Best MA, Regional, Sligo plus Sessional Prizes.

# INTERMEDIATE PAIRS CHAMPIONSHIP

(Dr. Heraughty Memorial Cup)
1st (€250 each), 2nd, 3rd plus
Best Inter "B" Pair (trophy kindly donated by
Mary Kelly-Rogers), Second Inter 'B', Best
Regional Pair, Best Sligo Pair plus Sessional
Prizes.

### **TEAM OF FOUR CHAMPIONSHIP**

(The Peig Murray Perpetual Salver)
1st (€200 each), 2nd, 3rd, plus Best MA, Best
Intermediate, Regional and SligoTeam.

#### OPEN PAIRS:

MITCHELLS (9+ TABLES):

1st N/S & 1st E/W €25 per player 2nd N/S & 2nd E/W €20 per player 3rd N/S & 3rd E/W €15 per player

# HOWELLS/SCRAMBLED MITCHELLS (<9 TABLES):

1st Prize €25 per player
2nd Prize €20 per player
3rd Prize €15 per player

### D. M. HANLEY PERPETUAL TROPHY to

be awarded to the player with highest points in Open Pairs over all sessions, including Sunday afternoon (5-4-3-2-1). Gala Pairs/Mixed Pairs % will be used as a tie-

Holder: Fr. Thos Woods

breaker.

### **INNISFREE PERPETUAL SALVER**

(Presented by the late Olivia Rowlette) to be awarded to the Sligo Player with the highest points in Open Pairs over all sessions, including Sunday afternoon (5-4-3-2-1). Gala Pairs/Mixed Pairs % will be used as a tie-breaker.

Holders: Anna McKiernan & Mairin UiRuanaí

# PROGRAMME FRIDAY 23rd MAY

### **OFFICIAL OPENING**

Time 7.30 pm by Thomas MacCormac C.B.A.I

### MIXED PAIRS

Time 7.45 pm Holders: Ciara Burns & Pat Quinn

### **GALA OPEN PAIRS**

Time 7.45 pm Holders: Frank McKieman & Danny Liddy

### PRESENTATION OF PRIZES

Time: 11.30 pm

# SATURDAY 24th MAY

### **CONGRESS PAIRS**

Time: 1.30 pm & 7.15 pm Holders: Bridie Kenny & Colette Mulhern

### INTERMEDIATE PAIRS

Time: 1.30 pm & 7.15 pm Holders 'A' Helena Moran & Jo Moran Holders 'B': John McGrath & Chris McGrath

### **OPEN PAIRS**

Afternoon: 2.00 pm Evening: 7.30 pm

#### NOVICE CHAMPIONSHIP

Time: 7.30 pm

Holders: Dave Flanagan & Anne-Marie Keaney

#### SOCIAL - ADMISSION FREE

Time: 10.45 pm

**Complimentary Supper** 

### PRESENTATION OF PRIZES

Time: 11.00pm

# **SUNDAY 25<sup>th</sup> MAY**

### **TEAM CHAMPIONSHIP**

Time: 11.00 am - 5.30 pm (7x6 Board 'live' Barometer Swiss)

Holders: Patricia Kelly, Mary Madden, Frances Kelly, Dermot O'Brien

Short Break: 1.30 pm - 2.00 pm

### **OPEN PAIRS**

Morning: 11.00 am

Afternoon: 2.30 pm

### **CLOSING CEREMONY**

Time: 5:30 pm



# CONGRESS SPONSORS:

Radisson Blu Hotel Sligo
Failte Ireland
Tente Ltd
Gilroy Gannon
Embassy Rooms
Opel McCormack
E.S.B

Diageo-Guinness Group Sales Easons Quayside Shopping Centre

Sligo Credit Union

Donations from Sligo Bridge Clubs:
- Acol, Ballymote, Carraroe,
Co. Sligo GC, Innisfree, Phoenix,
Strandhill, Tubbercurry.

# PLEASE SUPPORT OUR SPONSORS

Do you need help finding accommodation?
Contact Mairéad Basquille
087 927 4448



# 52<sup>nd</sup> YEATS COUNTRY BRIDGE CONGRESS

## **PATRONS**

Thomas MacCormac (President C.B.A.I.)
Jackie Bolster (Pres. NW Region)
Marie O'Dowd (Ballymote BC)
Sean Stewart (Carraroe BC)
Mary Brennan (Co. Sligo GCBC)
Tommy Banks (Strandhill BC)
David Wright (Tubbercurry BC)

# HON. SECRETARY Frank Goodwin 087 749 8685

## HON, CONGRESS TREASURER

Declan Gallagher

ASSISTANT CONGRESS TREASURER
Assumpta Kelly

### COMMITTEE

Eileen Canning, Mary Kilfeather, Kathleen Maher, Claire Quirke, Gladys Sheridan, Tommy Banks, Tom Byrne, Ronnie Kelly, John Macdonald,

### **Honorary Life Members:**

Mrs. Madge O'Kennedy Mr. Jim Sproule

### TOURNAMENT DIRECTORS

Gillian Ballantyne Eileen O'Connor Mairéad Basquille Fearghal O'Boyle

### **ENTRIES TO**

(on or before Thursday 22nd please)
Frank Goodwin
087 749 8685
or
Fearghal O'Boyle
086 2652 871
fob@fob.ie
or
checkout our website fob.ie

### **ENTRY FEES**

GALA PAIRS €10 per player
MIXED PAIRS €10 per player
CONGRESS PAIRS €20 per player
INTER PAIRS €20 per player
TEAM OF FOUR €20 per player
OPEN PAIRS €10 per player

# Radisson Blu Hotel

Phone: 071 9140008

email: info.sligo@radissonblu.com
The Radisson Blu Hotel is a 4 Star Hotel
situated one mile from Sligo on the
Rosses Point Road. It is a modern hotel
with132 deluxe bedrooms offering
guests access to impressive on-site spa
and leisure facilities.

# SPECIAL WEEKEND RATES

2 Nights B&B and 1 Dinner
€149 per person sharing
3 Nights B&B and 1 Dinner
€179 per person sharing
Friday B&B €120 per room
Saturday B&B €145 per room
€30 single supplement per night
These Preferential Rates are Limited.
very early booking is advisable
Contact Reservations
9 - 5 Monday Friday 071 9140008

# GENERAL INFORMATION

The Congress Committee reserves the right to refuse any entry without stating a reason, and to decide any question arising in the course of the Congress. No player can win more than one prize in the same competition. Prizes will be awarded in the order listed in the brochure. Only bona fide regular members of a Co. Sligo Bridge Club will be eligible for a 'Best Sligo' prize. The Committee reserve the right to modify the programme and prize money if considered necessary and their decision is final. All events are played under the International Laws of Duplicate Contract Bridge 2007 as adopted by the C.B.A.I. Tournament Directors have the authority to seed players. It is not necessary to enter in advance for the Open Pairs Competitions. Events will commence punctually. All players are required to take their places at least ten minutes before the starting time shown on the programme. Entrants for Open Pairs are requested to fill up one section at a time.

# **HOTELS**

| YEATS COUNTRY HOTEL | (071-9177211) |
|---------------------|---------------|
| SOUTHERN HOTEL      | (071-9162101) |
| GLASS HOUSE HOTEL   | (071-9194300) |
| SLIGO CITY HOTEL    | (071-9141000) |
| CLARION HOTEL       | (071-9119000) |
| SLIGO PARK HOTEL    | (071-9190400) |

# **LOCAL GUEST HOUSES**

I. Connolly, "lorrais", Ballincar
(071-9144911)
I. Fullerton, "Seapark House", Ballincar
(071-9145556)
Eavan O'Hara, "Down Yonder", Upper Rosses,
Rosses Point (089-2103639)
M. Reynolds, "Walrey", Ballincar
(071-9177327)
M. Scanlon, "Philmar", Ballincar
(071-9145014)